Audio Player - Click Here To Listen


« Back to All Articles
9th November 2018
Russian State Symphony Orchestra review: A dramatic and moving start to Cambridge Orchestral Series

Next up was pianist Barry Douglas, who movingly interpreted Rachmaninov’s Piano Concerto No 1 in the concert’s centrepiece performance. Written when the composer was, astonishingly, just 17 and 18 (although substantially revised in his 40s), Douglas deftly captured the quick switches in tone, from a moving delicacy through the gamut of emotions to furious, tumbling cascades of notes.

Publication:         Cambridge Independent

Author:                 Jude Clarke

Date:                      12 October 2018

Venue:                   Corn Exchange

Programme:        Rachmaninov Piano Concerto no.2